Drone photo of Marietta, GA

Highland Rivers Behavioral Health is governed by a 18-member governing board that includes a representative from every county in the agency’s service area. They are appointed by county leadership, primarily by each county’s respective Board of Commissioners.

Corner of Church St., in Elijay, GA

The board has an executive committee who are selected by board members, and two standing committees: corporate compliance and finance. Members serve three-year terms, and terms are staggered to ensure continuity of governance.

Marietta Square fountain

Highland Rivers Behavioral Health’s board meets every other month (six times each year). As a quasi-governmental state agency, we are subject to Open Meetings and all Governing board meetings are open to the public and announced in advance. On board meeting days, the compliance and finance committees meet at 9:30 a.m., and the full governing board meets beginning at 10:30 a.m.

Flower Highland Rivers Behavioral Health FY2022 Governing Board

The Highland Rivers Behavioral Health governing board includes individuals who have family members with mental illness, addictive disease or developmental disabilities, as well as representatives from the judicial system, family services, private industry, law enforcement, local government. and healthcare services.

Leland Johnson

Acting Chair

Behavioral Health Advocate
Gilmer County

Dr. Carol Holtz

Vice Chair

Kennesaw State University, Retired
Cobb County

Keith Ledford


Clear Creek Guide, Inc.
Fannin County

Steve Grimsley


Paulding County Deputy Clerk

Lane Bennett

Gordon County Sheriff’s Office

Thomas Brown

Behavioral Health Advocate
Whitfield County

Randal Crider

Public Safety Director
Cobb County Government

Mary Ghorley

Director of Risk Management
Piedmont Mountainside Hospital
Pickens County

Christina Howell

Behavioral Health Specialist
Premise Health
Murray County

Bartow County

Larry Maxey

Floyd County Board of Commissioners

Michael McElveen

Assistant Dean of Student Wellness
Berry College
Floyd County

Chinwe Okoronkwo

Chargemaster Analyst Senior
Northside Hospital
Cobb County

Pete Quinones

President & CEO
MetroAtlanta Ambulance Service
Cobb County

Karen Sparks

Behavioral Health Advocate
Haralson County

Connor Hooper

Asst. County Manager
Polk County

Tonya Riddick

Cherokee County
Translate »